COS in a Year: Anyone Else In?

I don’t normally make resolutions for the New Year, but Charles’ suggestion to read Context of Scripture (Brill link) in a year…well, that’s like making a resolution to, um, read really fun stuff every day.

Charles’ reading schedule (see PDF link in his post) offers enough variety to keep any one section from becoming deadening, while also providing enough continuity to keep the “C” in COS. Most of the daily readings are short enough that I’ll have time to make the most of the footnotes and, where appropriate, lexical helps.

I am caught up so far. Is anybody else giving it a shot?

8 Responses

  1. Oooh, me too! This is a perfect use for JP’s excellent work here:

    http://www.accordancebible.com/about/articles/cos.php

  2. […] yes, Brooke called my attention to Charles’ challenge for us to read The Context of Scripture through in […]

  3. Me too.

  4. But wouldn’t it be more fun to have bilingual editions of the COS materials? I would rather read through COS with normalized Sumerian, Akkadian, Ugaritic, Aramaic, Phoenician, and Egyptian on one side, and English on the other.

    I admit I’ve forgotten my Sumerian and I never learned Egyptian. But still.

    • I’m with you there, John: then my joy would be complete! And while I’ve never had Sumerian, I would love to have a good chunk of bilingual Sumerian texts ready to hand, alongside comparable Akkadian and Egyptian stuff, and enjoy myself seeing what I could puzzle out over time of the Sumerian. If anything, I’d be more inclined to hunt down an opportunity to pick up the Sumerian.

  5. That would be very nice, John. Also, if they would include more of some of the selections–like the 50 names of Marduk in Enuma Elish– it would be better as well.

  6. There were some pretty important contexts to which Ecclesiastes belongs that were left out as well–Shiduri’s advice to Gilgamesh not being the least of them.

Leave a Reply

