Plagiarism Paralysis

I’ve want to write a post about plagiarism, with reference to an excellent series of educational “what-is-plagiarism?” posters that I recently discovered.

But, the company publishing the posters won’t return my emails asking for permission to reproduce them.

[Plagiarism Paralysis was written by G. Brooke Lester for Anumma.com and was originally posted on 2011/04/06. Except as noted, it is © 2011 G. Brooke Lester and licensed for re-use only under CC BY-NC-ND 3.0.]

3 Responses

  1. As long as you give proper citation, wouldn’t they fall under fair use?

    Then again, you could always just link to the content and avoid the whole issue.

  2. Hi Jim,
    My understanding of fair use is as murky as anybody’s, but I *think* that a work of art is always as “stand alone” piece that calls for permission (so, I believe, with an illustration from a book: it’s not considered a part of the book, but a stand-alone work). But again, I don’t consider myself that well-informed.

    The company web site, unfortunately, doesn’t show the posters fully.

    If I can’t get their attention soon, I may just go ahead, with a plan to pull the pictures if they ask me to.

  3. irony. that’s just too darned funny. love the lo-fi pda too from another post. Thanks for the tip on the velocity notes.

Leave a Reply

