Poetics of Scribal Culture in Inner-Biblical Oralities of Allusive Redaction-Echoes, and Stuff

My main research focus, when I can get to it, concerns literary allusion in the Bible (also called “inner-biblical interpretation,” or “inner-biblical exegesis”).

Insofar as I have a Big Idea, it mostly involves running around like Chicken Little and yelling that the field of biblical studies isn’t producing a coherent conversation about “inner-biblical allusion” because we quarantine ourselves (as we so often do) from the secular ancillary scholarship (in this case, on the poetics of literary allusion).

What disturbs and intrigues me recently is, I think that there is another scholarly context to which I’ll need to tether my continuing work in biblical allusion. You know it well, and most recently, it looks something like this.

Upside: maybe I get to blow the dust off my Akkadian again. Downside: Hier werden deutsche.

[Poetics of Scribal Culture in Inner-Biblical Oralities of Allusive Redaction-Echoes, and Stuff was written by G. Brooke Lester for Anumma.com and was originally posted on 2012/01/16. Except as noted, it is © 2012 G. Brooke Lester and licensed for re-use only under CC BY-NC-ND 3.0.]

3 Responses

  1. Hey Brook,

    Have I told you that I am writing my dissertation on this subject? My two aims are to lay out the philosophical differences between “intertextuality” (poststructural literary theory or Theory) and “allusion” (representing a more traditionalist literary criticism) and to address how they should be applied in biblical studies. And yes, I am aware this topic is ambitious/going to kill me.

    I had not seen Carr’s new book, so thanks for the resource. Konrad Schmid just published the first major work in German on the subject. Blast him!

    Schriftgelehrte Traditionsliteratur: Fallstudien zur innerbiblischen Schriftauslegung im Alten Testament

    Benjamin Sommer is still has the best work out there on this subject, in my opinion.

    jk

    • Joseph, we should definitely talk. Your topic is ambitious, but really relevant. There’s a lot of sloppiness out there. I’m writing an article on “inner-biblical interpretation” for an encyclopedia, and there’s a paragraph in progress on how “intertextuality” is different, while older titles using the term persist in the record (obviously) and the field still often insists on using the term. I’ll ask you offline how far along you are! 🙂

      • I’d love to talk sometime. I found your article in the Library journal insightful. It’s in my bib, which is 20pp+ right now!

Leave a Reply

